Skip to main content

National Republican Convention personal histories

 Collection — Multiple Collection Box: [CA 1896 July 1] 1
Identifier: CA 1896 July 1

Scope and Contents

This collection is comprised of a roster of Oregon delegates to the National Republican Convention in 1896, and each delegate's "personal histories." Information includes past political affiliations; which group(s) they were lobbying for (e.g. The Young Republicans, National Bankers, etc.); which group(s) they were influenced by (e.g. "Railroad people," banks and bankers, etc.); and their occupation, city of residence, and age.

This document also includes additional personal remarks about the delegate (e.g. "wife a catholic," "a large sheep grower," and "always looking out for #1"). This would have been private information used by the floor managers at the convention.

Delegates listed for Oregon: John Meldrum, Charles Hilton, Robert A. Booth, Charles H. Dodd, Charles S. Moore, J.F. Calbreath, Charles W. Parrish, and Wallace McCaucant.


  • Creation: 1896 July 1

Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open to the public. Collection must be used in Special Collections and University Archives Reading Room. Collection or parts of collection may be stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections and University Archives in advance of your visit to allow for transportation time.

Conditions Governing Use

Property rights reside with Special Collections and University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries. Copyright resides with the creators of the documents or their heirs. All requests for permission to publish collection materials must be submitted to Special Collections and University Archives. The reader must also obtain permission of the copyright holder.

Biographical / Historical

The Republican National Convention of 1896 was held in St. Louis, Missouri. The Republican platform of 1896 favored the gold standard, supported the acquisition of Hawaii and parts of the Danish West Indies, sympathized with revolutionaries in Cuba and Armenia, urged exclusion of all illiterate immigrants, applauded gains in women's rights, and pledged "equal pay for equal work." On the Presidential Ballot were William McKinley, Thomas Brackett Reed, Matthew S. Quay, Levi P. Morton, William B. Allison, and James D. Cameron. The Vice Presidential Ballot included Garret A. Hobart, Henry Clay Evans, Morgan Bulkeley, and James A. Walker. McKinley and Hobart were ultimately nominated.

[Source: Official Proceedings of the Eleventh Republican National Convention, 1896]


0.1 linear feet (1 container) : 1 folder

Language of Materials



Collection is comprised of a roster of Oregon delegates to the National Republican Convention in 1896.


This collection contains a single item.

Guide to the National Republican Convention personal histories
Preliminary Description
Rachel Lilley
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the University of Oregon Libraries, Special Collections and University Archives Repository

1299 University of Oregon
Eugene OR 97403-1299 USA